To Race or Not to Race

by rchackman

That is the question I am struggling with today. While, I love the atmosphere of most races, I am certainly not in the kind of shape I would like to be. Then again, as an amateur, I have the luxury to show up and turn in a far from stellar performance….So the real question remains, will I be happy with just going out and running 13.1 miles for fun.

The thoughts above all stem from my indecisiveness on whether to run in the Miami Beach 13.1 Marathon this weekend. I know I am far from the shape I was in last season. As I discussed in my last post, Wedding Season, I have been enjoying the party life as of late. Going in to the race, I will have to be content with….just running ! i have little to no chance at a personal best. I may very well end up struggling as I have not been training for this. I can keep it conservative and go at my own pace but what will my ego think of this? haha.

I know I am not the fastest, nor the slowest. However, runners and athletes alike have expectations for themselves. Falling short of our own expectations can be demeaning……if we let it be that way. Therefore, there is a good chance I will be running this weekend as I cannot let my ego get in the way of good, old fashion fun.

