Week 4 – Freedom

by rchackman

For this week’s title, I am not actually referring to the freedom or independence that Americans celebrate on the 4th of July. Rather, the main reason I am dubbing this week’s training “Freedom” is to express my newfound love for my early AM training routine. It takes some discipline to get up but it’s well worth the benefits, mainly that morning runs give me more freedom to enjoy the rest of my days, evenings and weekends.

Monday July 1

6:15 AM – 60:00 Elliptical

Tuesday

6:20 AM – treadmill Run

  • 3 miles – 27:45 – 9:15 min/mile

6:50 AM – 30:00 Strength

Wednesday

6:10 AM – treadmill Run

  • 3 miles – 9:15 mins/mile
  • 2 miles – 9 mins/mile
  • 1 mile – 8:15 mins/mile
  • Total: 6 miles – 54:00 – 9 mins/mile

7:10 AM – 30:00 Elliptical

Thursday

7 AM – Independence Day Triathlon

  • .25 mile Swim
  • 10 mile Bike
  • 3 mile Run

Friday – Day Off

Saturday

9 AM – treadmill PACE Run

  • 15 min walk
  • 6 miles – 45:00 – 7:30 mins/mile
  • 10 min walk

5:40 PM – treadmill Run

  • 3 miles – 30:00 – 10 mins/mile

Fought through the morning’s PACE Run on the treadmill and pretty much took it easy for awhile afterwards. I was feeling pretty good later that day and I decided to tack on a few more miles for the day. I also did that run on the treadmill since it is ridiculously hot out in Florida this time of year.

Sunday July 7

3:30 AM – wakeup

3:45 AM – pre-run nutrition: 12 oz water, yogurt, coffee + chocolate soymilk

4:40 AM – 3/1 Long Run

  • 10 miles (1:34:15) – 9:25 mins/mile
  • final 3 miles (23:38) – 7:52 mins/mile
  • Total: 13 miles – 1:57:53 – 9:04 mins/mile
  • 15 min cool-down walk
  • Stretch

Drastic times, call for drastic measures. It’s been really tough trying to do some of these runs at any point in time when the sun is out. So, I decided that I should try to do my long run this week at the coolest time of day. This did call for a ridiculously early wakeup but in the end I thought it was well worth it. It was still hot and humid out but things seemed a lot better without the sun beating down on me. I also found running at such an early hour kind of nice and relaxing as well. I ended up taking a nap shortly before noon but was still kind of in a funk for the rest of the day. All that being said, I was really happy with my run, which I finished off very strong!

Run Mileage – 34 Miles

Total Time – 7:35:43

